20 Novembre 2020 31esima edizione – Full Digital

The Outlook for the Economy and Finance 2020

The Outlook for the Economy and Finance is the workshop held every year in the spring at Villa d’Este in Cernobbio. After its September Forum, this is the most prestigious event organized by The European House-Ambrosetti and its scope is to examine and explain economic and financial scenarios—the current situation, new trends and prospects for the future, both conjunctural and structural, and potential areas of crisis—in Italy, Europe and the world.

A prestigious event

This workshop’s prestige is due both to the importance of the issues examined and the array of speakers and attendees from around the globe that includes experts, Nobel laureates, presidents, CEOs, top managers of major corporations and representatives from leading political, economic and financial institutions, from both Italy and abroad.

The workshop has a strongly interactive nature with ample opportunity for debate and exchange, including outside the scheduled sessions.


The last edition – the 30th – included among its speakers: Laurence Boone (Chief Economist, OECD), Carlo Cottarelli (Director of the Italian Public Finance Monitor, Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore, Italy), Claudia Dörr-Voß (State Secretary, Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy, Germany), Mohamed A. El-Erian (Chief Economic Advisor, Allianz, Germany), Heiner Flassbeck (Honorary Professor, Hamburg University, Germany; former State Secretary, Federal Ministry of Finance, Germany), Roland Folz (CEO, solarisBank, Germany), Jacob Frenkel (Chairman, JPMorgan Chase International, USA; Chairman of the Board of Trustees, Group of Thirty G-30; former Governor, Bank of Israel), Federico Fubini (Deputy Editor ad personam, Corriere della Sera, Italy), Clemens Fuest (President IFO – Institute for Economic Research, Germany), Massimo Garavaglia (Deputy Minister of the Economy and Finance, Italy), Pinelopi Koujianou Goldberg (Chief Economist, World Bank; Elihu Professor of Economics, Yale University, USA), Klaas Knot (President, De Nederlandsche Bank, The Netherlands; Vice Chairman, Financial Stability Board), Richard C. Koo (Chief Economist, Nomura Research Institute, Japan), Francine Lacqua (Anchor and Editor-at-large, Bloomberg Television), Bruno Le Maire (Minister of the Economy and Finance, France), Enrico Letta (Dean, Paris School of International Affairs and Professor of International Relations, Sciences Po, France; former Prime Minister, Italy), Gerard Lyons (Co-founder “Economists for Brexit”, UK), Trevor Manuel (President’s Special Envoy on Investment, South Africa; Chairman, Old Mutual; former Minister of Finance, South Africa; former Minister in the Presidency for the National Planning Commission, South Africa), Ueli Maurer (President, Swiss Confederation; Head of the Federal Department of Finance, Swiss Confederation), Yves Mersch (Executive Board Member, European Central Bank), Mario Monti (President, Bocconi University), Jim O’Neill (Chair, Chatham House, UK; former Commercial Secretary to the Treasury, HM Treasury, UK), Pier Carlo Padoan (Member of Parliament, Italy; former Minister for Economy and Finance, Italy), Adam Posen (President, Peterson Institute for International Economics, USA), Nouriel Roubini (CEO, Roubini Macro Associates, USA; Professor of Economics, Stern School of Business, New York University, USA), Mehmet Şimşek (former Deputy Prime Minister for Economic and Financial Affairs, Turkey), Chris Skinner (Chairman, The Financial Services Club, UK), Fabio Tamburini (Editor-In-Chief, Il Sole 24 Ore, Italy), François Villeroy de Galhau (Governor, Banque de France), Martin Wolf (Associate Editor and Chief Economics Commentator, Financial Times, UK), David Woo (Head of Global Interest Rates, Foreign Exchange, Emerging Market Fixed Income & Economic Research, Bank of America Merrill Lynch, USA), Luigi Zingales (Professor of Entrepreneurship and Finance, University of Chicago Booth School of Business, USA).

Over the years, also hosted at Cernobbio have been Josef Ackermann, Joaquín Almunia, Giuliano Amato, Gary Becker, Fred Bergsten, Howard Davies, Wim Duisenberg, Stanley Fischer, Fan Gang, Enrico Giovannini, Otmar Issing, Mervyn King, George Mathewson, William McDonough, Robert Mundell, Christian Noyer, Edward Prescott, Alessandro Profumo, Raghuram Rajan, Eiusuke Sakakibara, Myron Scholes, William Sharpe, Vernon Smith, Pedro Solbes Mira, Michael Spence, Joseph Stiglitz, Domenico Siniscalco, Peter Sutherland, John Tiner, Michael Treschow, Giulio Tremonti, Jean-Claude Trichet, Paul Volcker e James Wolfensohn.