Friday, April 6 and Saturday, April 7, 2018 29th edition - Villa d’Este (Cernobbio)

The Outlook for the Economy and Finance 2018

The Outlook for the Economy and Finance is the workshop held every year in the spring at Villa d’Este in Cernobbio. After its September Forum, this is the most prestigious event organized by The European House-Ambrosetti and its scope is to examine and explain economic and financial scenarios—the current situation, new trends and prospects for the future, both conjunctural and structural, and potential areas of crisis—in Italy, Europe and the world.

National and International Press Review

A prestigious event

This workshop’s prestige is due both to the importance of the issues examined and the array of speakers and attendees from around the globe that includes experts, Nobel laureates, presidents, CEOs, top managers of major corporations and representatives from leading political, economic and financial institutions, from both Italy and abroad.

The workshop has a strongly interactive nature with ample opportunity for debate and exchange, including outside the scheduled sessions.


The last edition – the 28th – included among its speakers: Benoît Cœuré (Membro del Board Esecutivo della Banca Centrale Europea) Valdis Dombrovskis (Vice Presidente, Commissione Europea), Jyrki Katainen (Vice Presidente, Commissione Europea), Mervyn King (già Governatore, Bank of England), Elke König (Presidente, Single Resolution Board),  Andrew Sheng (Chief Adviser, China Banking Regulatory Commission), Yngve Slyngstad (CEO, Norges Bank Investment Management, Norvegia), Jes Staley (CEO, Barclays, UK), Duvvuri Subbarao (già Governatore, Reserve Bank of India), Andrés Velasco (già Ministro delle Finanze, Cile).

Over the years, also hosted at Cernobbio have been Josef Ackermann, Joaquín Almunia, Giuliano Amato, Gary Becker, Fred Bergsten, Howard Davies, Wim Duisenberg, Stanley Fischer, Fan Gang, Enrico Giovannini, Otmar Issing, Mervyn King, George Mathewson, William McDonough, Robert Mundell, Christian Noyer, Edward Prescott, Alessandro Profumo, Raghuram Rajan, Eiusuke Sakakibara, Myron Scholes, William Sharpe, Vernon Smith, Pedro Solbes Mira, Michael Spence, Joseph Stiglitz, Domenico Siniscalco, Peter Sutherland, John Tiner, Michael Treschow, Giulio Tremonti, Jean-Claude Trichet, Paul Volcker e James Wolfensohn.